All Time Low Host Alternative Press Music Awards

All Time Low stole the show last night at the second annual Alternative Press Music Awards in Cleveland, Ohio. Members Alex Gaskarth and Jack Barakat, who hosted the awards ceremony in front of over 20,000 people at the Quicken Loans Arena, undoubtedly made the ceremony a night to remember.

All Time Low opened the show with a live medley of rock hits that included “Bad Reputation,” “Should I Stay or Should I Go,” “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” “Basketcase,” “The Middle,” “What’s My Age Again,” and “Sugar, We’re Going Down.” The band wrapped up their medley with a performance of their original song “Something’s Gotta Give.” In addition, All Time Low collected three awards this evening for Best Drummer, Best Bassist, and Most Dedicated Fans. Frontman Alex Gaskarth remarked, “If you hate All Time Low, you’re having a really bad night.”

However, All Time Low were also in some hot water during the APMAs. As Metro Station took to the stage to annouce PVRIS and Tyler Carter’s performance, Trace Cyrus commanded the microphone and angrily stated, “I don’t understand why All Time Low always has to talk s*** on Metro Station. We’ve been nothing but nice to those guys and it’s so disrespectful when you go on tour with bands and they treat you disrespectful. It’s ridiculous.” During PVRIS’s performance, it is reported that Alex and Trace got into a verbal fight backstge that almost escalated into a physical altercation. Afterwards, Alex and Jack returned to the stage, and Alex sarcastically remarked, “I just had the most beautiful conversation with Trace Cyrus backstage.”

Despite this drama, several great bands delivered amazing performances at the Alternative Press Music Awards, including Weezer, Panic! At The Disco, Pierce the Veil, Black Veil Brides, New Found Glory, Simple Plan, Taking Back Sunday, and Sum 41. Panic! At The Disco’s cover of “Bohemian Rhapsody” was especially incredible due to Brendon Urie’s exceptional and dynamic voice. The entire crowd was captivated by their performance, which was definitely one of the highlights of the entire night. Sum 41 also made quite a splash with their first live performance in over three years.

The winners of the 2015 Alternative Press Music Awards are as follows:

Best Vocalist: Hayley Williams, Paramore

Best International Band: The 1975

Icon Award: X

Vanguard Award: Rob Zombie

Best Bassist: Zack Merrick, All Time Low

Artist Philanthropic: Taking Back Sunday for American Cancer Society

Best Live Band: A Day To Remember

Best Drummer: Rian Dawson, All Time Low

Best Fandom: 5 Seconds Of Summer

Best Music Video: “Drown,” Bring Me The Horizon

Song of the Year: “Kick Me,” Sleeping With Sirens

Best Underground Band: Being As An Ocean

Most Dedicated Fans: All Time Low’s “Hustlers”

Best Guitarist: Tony Perry, Pierce The Veil

Breakthrough Band: PVRIS

Artist of the Year: Issues

Album of the Year: Black Veil Brides, Black Veil Brides