The 2015 ESPY Awards, Caitlyn Jenner Honored

The 2015 ESPYS took place on July 15th at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles (CA). The awards show is presented by the ESPN network, and it recognizes the best athletes, teams, and events in the world of sports. The ESPYS have five honorary awards that pay tribute to athletes who have influenced the world with bravery and strength. The honorary awards were given to Derek Jeter- Icon Award, Danielle Green- Pat Tillman Award for Service, Lauren Hill- Best Moment Award, Leah Still- Jimmy V ESPY Award for Perseverance, and Caitlyn Jenner received the Arthur Ashe Courage Award.

During her speech, Jenner made an emotional request for people to accept others for who they are. Jenner stated that she never met a transgender person until a few months ago, and the experience turned her journey into an incredible education. In the past, Jenner said she was often alone and dealt with everything in private because of fear. “This transition has been harder on me than anything I could imagine,” Jenner told the audience. She added that transgender people deserve respect. Jenner had tons of support at The ESPYS– her children Kendall, Kylie, Burt, Brodie, and Brandon were all present at the ceremony. Her step-daughters Kim Kardashian, Khloe, and Kourtney were also in attendance.

The 2015 ESPY Award winners: Best Team- US Women’s Soccer, Best Athlete– Stephen Curry (NBA; Golden State Warriors), Best Play– Odell Beckham catch (NFL; New York Guants), Best Comeback Athlete- Rob Gronkowski (NFL; New England Patriots), Best Female Athlete- Ronda Rousey (MMA), Best Championship Performance-LeBron James (NBA; Cleveland Cavaliers), Best Breakthrough Athlete- Mo’ne Davis (Little League Baseball), Best Record-Breaking Performance- Peyton Manning throws record 509th touchdown pass (NFL; Denver Broncos), Best Upset- Mississippi over Alabama (College football), Best NFL Player- Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers), Best MLB Player- Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels), Best NBA Player- Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors), Best International Athlete- Lionel Messi (Soccer; Barcelona/Argentina).

The rest of the winners include: Best Fighter- Ronda Rousey (MMA), Best Male Action Sports Athlete- Ryan Dungey (Motocross), Best Female Action Sports Athlete- Kelly Clark (Snowboarding), Best Jockey- Victor Espinoza, Best Golfer- Jordan Spieth, Best Female Golfer- Lydia Ko, Best Male College Athlete- Marcus Mariota (College football; Oregon), Best Female College Athlete- Missy Franklin (Swimming; California), Best Game- Patriots vs. Seahawks (NFL; Super Bowl), Best Coach/Manager- Steve Kerr (NBA; Golden State Warriors), Best NHL Player- Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks), Best Driver- Kevin Harvick (NASCAR), Best Male Tennis Player- Novak Djokovic, Best Female Tennis Player- Serena Williams, Best Female Athlete with a Disability- Becca Meyers (Swimming), Best Male Athlete with a Disability- Krige Schabort (Triathlon), Best Bowler- Jason Belmonte, Best MLS Player- Robbie Keane (Los Angeles Galaxy), and Best WNBA Player- Skylar Diggins (Tulsa Shock).