Sia Wins Songwriter of the Year at APRA Awards

Sia won the top honor at the APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) Music Awards this year. The pop singer-songwriter won the Songwriter of the Year award for the third consecutive year, which is an APRA Awards’ record. “This is an unprecedented, and very likely, a never to be repeated achievement by one of our most talented songwriters,” APRA CEO Brett Cottle stated. Along with her Songwriter of the Year Award, Sia’s “Chandelier” won Song of the Year. In an odd, yet comedic fashion, Fall Out Boy‘s Pete Wentz accepted Sia’s APRA Awards, while he sported a short blonde wig. 

The other winners of the night include Sheppard, who won Pop Work of the Year and Most Played Australian Work for “Geronimo.” 5 Seconds of Summer was honored with the Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year award, and Pharrell Williams‘ “Happy” won International Work of the Year. The Blues & Roots Work of the Year went to Angus & Julia Stone for “Heart Beats Slow.” 

For the third consecutive year, Gotye received the Most Played Australian Work Overseas; this year he won for his song “Somebody That I Used To Know” featuring Kimbra. In the country music category, the Adam Eckersley Band won Country Work of the Year for “Give Her the World.” The Rock Work of the Year honor was given to Stonefield‘s Love You Deserve. This year’s performers at the APRA Awards included Kingswood, Lisa Mitchell, and Dan Sultan

Besides penning her own solo projects, Sia has written songs for a number of recording artists. Some of her songwriting works include writing “Diamonds” (Rihanna), “Pretty Hurts” and “Standing on the Sun” (Beyoncé), “Breathe” (Jessie J), “Radioactive” (Rita Ora), “Loved Me Back to Life” (Celine Dion), and “Invincible” (Kelly Clarkson). 

Sia’s sixth studio album 1000 Forms of Fear was released last year. The project produced four singles including “Chandelier,” “Eye of the Needle,” “Big Girls Cry,” and “Elastic Heart.” 1000 Forms of Fear entered the top of the Billboard 200 Albums chart, and it sold over 50,000 copies in its first week. Sia became the first Australian artist to debut at Number 1 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.

FDRMX Eyes: Fiona Noakes Band is comprised of four members from Ottawa, Canada. The rock band has recently released their music video entitled “Ghost of the Abyss.” 

[jwplatform qYGjqo34-daFoP3nJ]