Sara Bareilles’ Musical Will Debut This Summer

Sara Bareilles will provide the music and lyrics for the musical Waitress, which will make its debut in August. The musical is based on the film Waitress, and the play is co-written and stars Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall, The Gunman, and Intimacy). The American Repertory Theater will produce Waitress, and Tony Award winner Diane Paulus (Finding Neverland and Pippin) will direct the musical. 

Bareilles is not the only artist to score the songs for a musical. Country star Brandy Clark (and songwriter Shane McAnally) wrote nineteen songs for The Moonshine: That Hee Haw Musical. The musical will debut in Texas on September 2nd, and it will run through October 11th at the Dallas Theater Center. The Moonshine: That Hee Haw Musical was written by Robert Horn and directed by Gary Griffin. The musical is loosely based on the hit television variety series, Hee Haw, that starred Roy Clarke and Buck Owens in the 1970s. 

Sara Bareilles has released four studio albums including Careful Confessions, Little Voice, Kaleidoscope, and The Blessed Unrest. Her sophomore album, Little Voice, impacted the albums charts in the US (Number 7), UK (Number 9), Mexico (Number 15), Europe (Number 24), and more. The project was led by the hit record “Love Song,” which went to the top of the Billboard Adult Contemporary, Adult Top 40, and Mainstream Top 40 chart. Little Voice would go on to sell over 4 million copies worldwide. Bareilles’ latest project entitled The Blessed Unrest entered the Billboard 200 at Number 2, after selling over 60,000 copies. The album’s most successful single, “Brave,” has sold over 2 million singles, and it peaked at Number 23 on the Billboard Hot 100. “Brave” was also nominated for Best Solo Performance at the Grammy Awards last year.

Brandy Clark may be most-known for penning songs for Reba McEntire, Miranda Lambert, LeAnn Rimes, and The Perry Band. After being encouraged to become a solo country artist, Clark released her first album in 2013. 12 Stories reached Number 2 on the Top Heatseekers Albums chart, and Number 23 on the Top Country Albums chart. The project features the singles “Stripes,” “Pray to Jesus,” and “Hungover.” Clark was nominated for Artist of the Year at this year’s Grammy Awards ceremony.

FDRMX Eyes: Nick Deutsch is an up and coming artist based in New York City. The singer-songwriter recently premiered his music video for “Crazy Ride.”

[jwplatform cgPNL05F-daFoP3nJ]