Radio Disney Music Awards Nominees Are Out

The nominees for the 2015 Radio Disney Music Awards have been revealed. The nominees in the Best Music Group category include 5 Seconds of Summer, Fifth Harmony, and One Direction. Ed Sheeran, Nick Jonas, and Pharrell Williams are nominated for Best Male Artist, while the female nominees include Ariana Grande, Meghan Trainor, and Taylor Swift. The Song of the Year nominations include “Problem” (Ariana Grande featuring Iggy Azalea), “All About That Bass” (Meghan Trainor), and “Shake It Off” (Taylor Swift). “Jealous” (Nick Jonas), “Steal My Girl” (One Direction), and “Can’t Blame a Girl for Trying” (Sabrina Carpenter) round out the Best Crush Song nominees. 

Some of the other categories include Fiercest Fans, Best New Artist, and Best Collaboration. Fifty Harmony, Maroon 5, Charli XCX, Shawn Mendes, and Echosmith are among the other recording artists nominated for a Radio Disney award this year. The full list of nominees can be viewed on Radio Disney’s website, and voting is now open on the website too. Fans can also place their vote on Twitter, Facebook, the Radio Disney phone app, and their votes can be sent through texting. The voting deadline is Sunday, April 5th. The Radio Disney Music Awards will take place at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles on April 25th. The awards show will air on the Disney Channel on April 26th at 8pm (Eastern standard time). 

The ceremony made its television debut last year on the Disney channel, which featured performances by Ariana Grande, Fifth Harmony, Becky G, and Austin Mahone. In the previous years, the awards show was an audio-only recording, which ran from 2002 through 2006. Radio Disney went on hiatus, and did not hold an awards ceremony from 2007 through 2012. In 2013, Ariana Grande hosted the awards show, and it featured performances by Selena Gomez, Mindless Behavior, Cher Lloyd, Coco Jones, Austin Mahone, and more. To date, Hilary Duff is Radio Disney’s most nominated recording artist with twenty-five nominations. The singer-actress also leads all other artists with fourteen Radio Disney awards. Some of Hilary Duff’s awards include Best New Artist, Best Actress Turned Singer, Most Stylish Singer, and Best Song. The host and performers for the 2015 Radio Disney Awards have not been announced yet. 

FDRMX Eyes: G.O.A.T. is a five piece rock band with Fane Jerry being the frontwoman. The band has released a music video entitled “Dead Thing.”

[jwplatform V9f18FS7-daFoP3nJ]