Pink Floyd Gives Fans a Look into the Studio

As the latest promo for their new album, Endless River, Pink Floyd has welcomed fans into the recording studio in a teaser of new music to come. You can watch them in action here. This video also follows two other 30-second snippets of music from the new album.

The first highlights a short, spacey guitar solo. The second teaser clip features the late Robert Wright’s contributions to the album. It makes sense — the band released a statement earlier this year, saying, “Endless River is a tribute to Rick Wright, whose keyboards are at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound.” Their latest teaser reveals a bit more about the creative processes of creating Endless River, and the struggles of finalizing the two-year project. The Endless River will be Pink Floyd’s first album in 20 years, and is due for release on November 10.

The album, however, won’t feature original bassist Roger Waters, who left the band in 1985. Drummer Nick Mason revealed last year that he would be interested in a full reunion, but was doubtful that this wish would ever materialize. “I would do it… I’m ready to go,” he said, “I’m packed, I have my drum kit, a suitcase and a wash bag by my front door ready for it when I ever get the call. But I’m not holding my breath.”

Still, Endless River is making its way up the ranks as the most pre-ordered album of all time on Amazon, trailing just behind the current record-holders, One Direction. The album will be released next month and, as previously reported, will be the band’s last ever release. Mason says a live performance is unlikely, considering it would be difficult to perform without Wright. He also claims the album doesn’t necessarily “lend itself to being played in stadiums,” but that it may suit a slot at London’s long-closed UFO Club, a 1960s haunt of Pink Floyd’s.

Endless River’s track listing includes: “Things Left Unsaid,” “It’s What We Do,” “Ebb And Flow,” “Sum,” “Skins,” “Unsung,” “Anisina,” “The Lost Art Of Conversation,” “On Noodle Street,” “Night Light,” “Allons-y (1),” “Autumn’68,” “Allons-y (2),” “Talkin’ Hawkin,” “Calling,” “Eyes To Pearls,” “Surfacing,” and “Louder Than Words.”